Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (194) - TV Shows (5) - Books (2) - Music (16) - Games (6)

The Yards review

Posted : 14 years, 10 months ago on 24 November 2007 02:31 (A review of The Yards)

This was average, disappointing I must admit but it could have been worse. I was expecting a lot from this movie, the cast is brilliant but somehow I just didn't enjoy watching this as much as I thought I would.

The Yards is the story of Leo Handler, a man who has just been released from jail and all he wants is to be a normal guy and make his family proud without getting himself into trouble. He decides to try working with his best friend to earn some cash, but he has no idea what he's getting himself into, it all seems mysterious to him. But after one night everything changes, the plan goes wrong and suddenly Leo is seen by a cop and from there everyone is a threat to him.. he is wrongfully accused of murder and he only has his sick mother and cousin to take care of him.

Mark Wahlberg was very good again, he really suited his role and made this worth watching. Joaquin Phoenix always looks evil to me, I don't know why.. but he did play his part quite well, it was just a shame the story didn't develop as well as it could have.

The ending deserves to be mentioned, It was sad but eventually everything seemed right and it was a good place to finish it. I guess it wouldn't have been nearly as good if everyone survived. Overall this was decent but again not as good as it could have been. I can't point out exactly where things went wrong but for one thing I know there was nothing wrong with the cast. It is worth watching and seeing for yourself, but just don't expect anything amazing.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Sixth Sense review

Posted : 14 years, 10 months ago on 22 November 2007 08:17 (A review of The Sixth Sense)

This has to be one of the best thrillers of all time, it was so well crafted and put together. It really amazed me with the amount of time making this movie as perfect as it could be, adding every last touch to make the ending surprising and unexpected, but at the same time making sure to place clues in the film.

I can explain the plot with a simple quote from the movie:
"Once upon a time there was this person named Malcolm. He worked with children. He loved it. He loved it more than anything else. And then one night, he found out that he made a mistake with one of them. He couldn't help that one. And he can't stop thinking about it, he can't forget. Ever since then, things have been different. He's not the same person that he used to be. And his wife doesn't like the person that he's become. They barely speak anymore, they're like strangers. And then one day Malcolm meets this wonderful little boy, a really cool little boy. Reminds him a lot of the other one. And Malcolm decides to try and help this new boy. 'Cause he feels that if he can help this new boy, it would be like helping that other one too."

If you watch it again and you know the twist, you notice the different clues placed in the movie that you would take no notice of the first time. It certainly came as a complete surprise to me, but it ended perfectly in that it satisfied you with everything you need to know. It actually plays back the clues as the character is discovering the 'twist' so it's not easy no get confused.

Definitely worth seeing if you haven't already, Bruce Willis was amazing and Haley J Osment's performance was brilliant. Go see it now!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Blow review

Posted : 14 years, 10 months ago on 22 November 2007 07:10 (A review of Blow)

Blow is one of those movies you'll either love or hate, depending on whether or not you like watching movies based on the story of one person. In this case, it follows the life of George Jung, one of the biggest drug dealers and the man who established the American cocaine market in the 1970's. This film shows everything you could want to know about this guy, through the good times, the bad times and the really bad times. He didn't exactly have all the happiness in life that you could want, but this is still a great watch finding out every detail about George Jung and his life.

The end is sad but touching in a way that it leaves you wondering what is really happening with George now. I have to say that the narration was perfect for some of the scenes, even just expressing the emotions with words made it fantastic. It was like you were inside George's head, knowing exactly what he was going through in any part of the movie. When something disappointing happened I could really see the emotions coming, or when something happens that you might not think is fair you feel unsatisfied. Yet George takes you through the good times as well, which I have to say is more satisfying.

Johnny Depp again showed his versatility in this film, I've said it before and I will say it again; there's no other with talent like he has. Ray Liotta deserves to be mentioned, though his part was small compared to others he really was brilliant. Overall this was a really great watch, everyone should watch this at some point if you think you'll like it or not, hopefully you will.

'May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face.'


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Blade review

Posted : 14 years, 10 months ago on 18 November 2007 01:41 (A review of Blade)

This isn't just a typical action film. It's different, and I mean in a good way. It's more a horror movie, but packed with loads of action from Wesley Snipes and blood and vampires to top it off.

Wesley Snipes is Blade, an immortal warrior who constantly battles an underground world of vampires without the rest of the world knowing. The Vampires are everywhere, he's just the only one that knows it. When he defeats a vampire in a hospital one night he reluctantly takes a vampire victim to his hideout to try and cure her. With the help of the girl he tries to take out the most powerful vampire of all, Frost, who is seeking to release the 'Blood God' to wipe out the entire human race.

Just before seeing this I watched 'The Contractor' with Wesley Snipes and that might have put me off seeing this a bit. But still I watched it and I'm glad I did because his performance in this was like no other. It's not easy being Blade and he did it exceptionally well. Stephen Dorff was evil, and yet made it more enjoyable to watch as he was kind of a humorous evil.(that is ..when he's not biting someone's neck or anything like that) He just made it more entertaining I guess you could say.

It's easily enjoyable, not so much scary but gruesome and I can say they would have used a hell of a lot of fake blood in this. Still, if you like horror/action movies of perhaps just like the theme of vampires will love this.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Out of Sight review

Posted : 14 years, 10 months ago on 17 November 2007 12:16 (A review of Out of Sight)

Not too bad, I was just expecting it to be a little better. George Clooney and Jennifer Lopez had better chemistry than I would have expected, but that doesn't make the overall movie worth more than 3 stars.

George Clooney is Jack Foley, the most successful bank robber in the country. On the day he busts out of jail, he meets Karen Sisco, and easily falls for her. Unfortunately for him, she's a federal agent, but the two start to risk everything to find out if there could have been something between them. It's not exactly original, there's a lot of movies with themes like this, but this is one of the only ones that I have seen. It's not completely romance but there was a lot more than I expected. I would have liked to see more action from this film..

George Clooney was the best he could be with his character, which was very good. Jennifer Lopez didn't have that talent that he did, so the chemistry collided with good acting and in that way sometimes it didn't work. Don Cheadle's part was unfortunately small, but his acting was decent for that part he had. Oh and I'll just have to mention Steve Zahn, he made this a lot more enjoyable.

The verdict is you'll like this if you're into romance and action movies, it wasn't exactly my type so I didn't like it as much. Not the best of movies, but it's watchable.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A Simple Plan review

Posted : 14 years, 10 months ago on 15 November 2007 05:46 (A review of A Simple Plan)

This is a brilliant film from beginning to end. One of the best psychological thrillers to this day, you won't want to be missing out on this one.

Bill Paxton plays a hardware store manager, Hank, who seems from the outside like a mild-mannered guy who would never do anything wrong or against the law. That all changes from one trip to the cemetery with his brother, Jacob, (Billy Bob Thornton) and their friend. While driving home a fox stays in the middle of the road, causing the three to crash into a tree when avoiding the fox. They bought Jacob's dog with them so before long he chases the fox into the Nature Reserve, so the three follow. They never expected to stumble across 4.4 million dollars from a plane crash when they where there, it leaves them with the decision of whether or not they should hand the money in or keep it for themselves. Hank reluctantly agrees to keep the money safe at his house until they know it's safe to share it between them. They were to move away from town if they ended up keeping the money, otherwise if things were getting suspicious Hank would burn the cash. A simple plan right? You'll have to watch for yourself to see the twists and turns experienced by the characters, as it leaves them wishing they never found the money in the first place.

Bill Paxton was fantastic as the lead role, playing his character extremely well and showing all the emotions you would expect from experiences like that. Billy Bob Thornton was brilliant in every way, playing someone who never really forgot about his childhood. Towards the end his performance became stronger, and it made me realise this movie couldn't have done nearly as well without him.

I'm so happy I watched this, it'll have to be one of my favourites. If you haven't already seen this, I really recommend you see it. One of the best performances from Billy Bob Thornton and a brilliant thriller that is easy to understand and enjoyable!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Devil's Own review

Posted : 14 years, 10 months ago on 14 November 2007 06:44 (A review of The Devil's Own)

Wow.. I expected this movie to have a higher average rating, in fact only a few of my friends have rated this. I say ignore the average rating and watch this, it really is an amazing movie.

I wouldn't exactly classify this as an action film, more a drama or thriller. I liked the way it combined different themes together - one minute it's a shootout packed with action and the next is a heartwarming scene that's like a true drama film. Brad Pitt plays a top Irish IRA terrorist who escapes to New York and disguises himself using another name. When he first comes to NY he knows that he will be staying with a family, what he doesn't know is that he will be living with a cop and his family. But still he goes on as planned, keeping hopeful that the cop doesn't find out who he really is.

Harrison Ford was pretty much himself, and I have to say that apart from his earlier roles, he's never really surprised me with his acting skills. So I didn't expect anything huge and what I got back wasn't that bad, just not amazing at all. I have to mention the last scene though, it was really powerful for him and that scene was perfect. Brad Pitt again was brilliant, but this film didn't really do much for him unfortunately as it wasn't that popular.

This is a nice movies that although it may not be a happy ending, it leaves you with a nice feeling and comfort. I really recommend you see this, hopefully you'll like it as much as I did.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Deck the Halls (2006) review

Posted : 14 years, 10 months ago on 10 November 2007 11:58 (A review of Deck the Halls (2006))

A typical Christmas comedy, but I kinda hate to admit I enjoyed it. Sure, its predictable with one of those happy endings, but I got a few laughs along the way.

Basically what happens is a new guy comes to town, and happens to be the neighbour of the 'Christmas guy' of the town. But soon the new guy and his family decide to put up Christmas lights all over their house, with the hope of being able to see it from space. Soon he becomes the new Christmas guy, and he's ruining it for his neighbour. The two become rivals and act like kids I guess you could say, as they battle it out but eventually all they need for a nice Christmas is their family, that's what they find out anyway.

Mathew Broderic was funny to see, I admire him as an actor and he just seemed to enjoy the whole thing and Danny DeVito gave it that extra touch. This is a nice Christmas comedy, but if you've had enough of them don't bother ..otherwise just sit back and enjoy!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Prestige review

Posted : 14 years, 10 months ago on 10 November 2007 11:45 (A review of The Prestige)

I prefer the Illusionist to this movie, not that I didn't like this one. It's more predictable than The Illusionist, but the story is still well presented and crafted so that the suspense builds up until the very end when all is revealed. It keeps you guessing about what will happen next, and entertaining to watch the amazing tricks and illusions this movie has to offer.

In this film, two magicians become rivals and attempt to out show the other in their business. They each try to learn from each other and present themselves so that they can be shown as the best performer. We are shown many flashbacks which just add to the suspense of the film and the surprise when what we are trying to discover is revealed.

Towards the end it's a hard decision which of the two magicians is the good one, and who is bad. I get the feeling that both are good as well as evil towards each other, the thoughts still stay with you after the movie finishes. High Jackman and Christian Bale worked perfectly together, and Michael Caine just added to the amazing cast. Scarlett Johansson played her character beautifully and even David Bowie gave it a nice touch.

If you haven't already you really should see this movie, this should not be missed and if you liked The Illusionist then you really should give this one a try. They have a similar story but both have a unique twist at the end.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Contractor review

Posted : 14 years, 10 months ago on 10 November 2007 11:27 (A review of The Contractor)

I was actually quite disappointed in this one, I had high expectations. Just by looking at the cover it seems like another enjoyable Wesley Snipes action film, and by reading the plot it seems like it could be a stand out film. I read somewhere on the back cover that you should like this if you liked 'Shooter. I loved Shooter, so I thought I'd give this a try.

It was enjoyable and entertaining in most parts, but some were just a little slow and seemed to go on for too long. Even the action scenes I didn't maintain interest in, it just seemed as if it was either too slow or too fast. The plot was interesting though, it's all based around one event at the beginning when a marksman James Dial assassinated a leading terrorist. Soon he is in pursuit from the British police, and eventually framed for the murder of the lead investigator. James befriends with a twelve year old girl who helps him in seeking out the truth behind his betrayal.

Wesley Snipes has proven to be a great action movie star, but this film didn't do much good for him. The part he had he played well, something just wasn't right and this film didn't turn out to be very popular. I was surprised with Eliza Bennett, she played her part quite well for someone I hadn't really seen before from other films.

Not too sure if this is worth watching, you could give it a go but don't expect anything amazing.


0 comments, Reply to this entry