Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (194) - TV Shows (5) - Books (2) - Music (16) - Games (6)

The Ninth Gate review

Posted : 14 years, 11 months ago on 28 October 2007 08:44 (A review of The Ninth Gate)

It was good. No, it was great. I just was kind of expecting more from a Johnny Depp movie.

The plot was original and creepy. Not so much scary, but it was more a thriller and had a spooky vibe to it. Basically Dean Corso, a rare book hunter who is hired by a demonologist to track down the other two remaining copies of a book he owns to examine them and authenticate his copy. Little does he know that these owners are involved in a conspiracy which leaves many people dead and Dean Corso to find out exactly is going on and what the book can really do.

Johnny Depp was perfect for his role, he always is. But unlike some of his other films such as Sleepy Hollow or Secret Window, it doesn't have that little bit of humor that he brings to most of these types of films. He still acted brilliantly though, and the other actors were mediocre. Nothing too special at all, Johnny Depp after all was the reason I watched this in the first place, so luckily he didn't disappoint me.

What I'm trying to say is you really should see this, its a great thriller that keeps you guessing what's really happening. The ending was sudden, I expected to see more but I think it was good in a way that you're left with thoughts about what really happened after the film finishes. This is definitely worth watching!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Cellular review

Posted : 14 years, 11 months ago on 28 October 2007 04:17 (A review of Cellular)

It was.. just watchable. Only just, I mean I survived watching the whole movie somehow, not that it was at all entertaining.

The plot was one of the stupidest I have ever seen. I mean really, it was. Here it is if you want to know why. Basically this woman [Kim Basinger] was kidnapped from her home, and the kidnappers threaten to take her son next. This, by the way, all happened because her husband had footage on his camera of the kidnappers killing 2 people. So, they put the woman in a basement and smash the only phone in there that was connected. When they leave her, she puts a few wires together and suddenly the phone works for her, amazing eh? She gets through to a young guy, maybe in his early twenties, and convinces him that she has been kidnapped and for him to go to the police and take up "10 minutes of his day" to help her. So much for ten minutes - what follows is just a huge mess. The whole time he has no proof that she is actually kidnapped, and yet he goes to all sorts of measures like stealing cars and threatening to shoot people. He even goes to her sons school to try and save him, I mean he could have been anywhere in the world but coincidentally he is close enough to go there. And he even tries to beat the kidnappers to the airport to get her husband, with no plan of stopping them. You guessed right about the happy ending. This plot was just stupid and your left the whole time thinking about stuff he could easily do to help her rather than trying to save them all by himself. Sometimes in these movies they have an ex-cop or something that is the main character and saving everyone, but the one in this one described as childish and immature? How can they expect someone like that to do those things?

The acting was embarrassing for pretty much everyone. I guess Jason Statham played his part okay, he was the main reason I chose this in the first place. But Kim Basinger? Chris Evans? The acting from them was crap beyond belief, it was as if they were just saying it and showed no emotion from the characters.

The verdict is that I really, really wouldn't recommend you see this.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Score review

Posted : 14 years, 11 months ago on 26 October 2007 07:54 (A review of The Score)

It was really good, I guess I was expecting a little bit more, but I'm not disappointed in any way.

The start was a bit slow, it took me a while to get into it. But I think it was when Edward Norton came on it brightened things up a bit and made it more watchable. Its one of those crime movies that is easy to understand, you don't have to think much to know what's going on. Its just straightforward entertainment. An aging thief, Nick [De Niro] is hoping for an easy retirement and settling with the cash he has made so far from his profession. The main reason for this is a girl, who I found really young for him, but somehow he gets with her and she wants him to stop for good. But when Jack [Norton] talks him into doing one last job worth 6 million dollars to him, he regrettably says yes to the deal. So Jack is on the inside where 'The Score' is, having another life as a metal guy named Brian. So the guards are all friends with him, he can easily get into the spot to change the cameras etc. where Nick needs to get to. So they've got it all planned out, they just need to get in and do the job. Simple? You'll have to watch the movie to see the twists and turns along the way.

Ed Norton just completely amazed me with this film. He really is an aspiring actor, he has so much talent that I am just waiting to see from him in other movies. He was extremely clever to ace the role of the retarded guy, Brian, he just played him so well. If I hadn't known him better and if there was no other character, I would think that he was actually like that. He really made the movie a lot, lot better. Robert De Niro again was fantastic also. He was himself, but that was great for his character in this film. Marlon Brando was ..foul. That's the best word to describe it. I'm not a huge fan in case you can't tell, but in this movie he just looked old, sick and ..big? Anyway, no applause for him.

So if you haven't already, (which I don't think many people have seen this movie) you really should see it. Sure, it's not the best, but it's certainly worth watching. If you are a Ed Norton or Robert De Niro fan you will like it even more. If for some really strange reason you hate them, I wouldn't suggest you go and see this anytime soon.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Godsend review

Posted : 14 years, 11 months ago on 22 October 2007 08:42 (A review of Godsend)

Why is the average rating for this so low? It wasn't at all that bad, I admit it wasn't one of the best Robert De Niro films I have seen, but it was decent and worth watching to say the least.

The story is actually very original and unlike no other film I have seen before. It's basically about a couple who loose their son early to an accident. A genetics expert then confronts them and poses them with the idea of using the DNA from their son to clone another child. This would mean raising him again from birth and for them to movie to near the facility known as Godsend. It sounds simple but it becomes twisted and has an unexpected twist at the end. For some it may be easy to work out from the beginning, though it isn't extremely clever it adds something new that the movie would be nothing without.

I have to say though the ending kinda sucked. They could have done something better, perhaps someone could die? I noticed they did make alternative endings, they should have gone with one of them because this one could have been a lot better.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

100% Brilliant

Posted : 14 years, 11 months ago on 22 October 2007 01:34 (A review of Donnie Brasco)

By far one of the best if not the best mob/gangster movie I have seen. Based on a true story this film is absolutely brilliant.

It tells the true story of Joseph D. Pistone, an FBI agent who goes undercover as Donnie Brasco to find information on an aging hitman 'Lefty' and his gang. The information found out by Joseph was amazing and led to many convictions. But after a while Joseph's professional and personal lives collide, and he becomes more like the mob member he is pretending to be.

The acting was just brilliant. Johnny Depp was amazing, couldn't have been any better. This is yet another film that proves what an amazing actor he is. Al Pacino also acted well, I didn't really like his character though and I haven't seen many of his films, but he was fantastic as well in this film. The others that I can't name them all were great additions to the cast.

The book is supposed to be better than the movie, so I should check that out sometime. But I really, really enjoyed watching this masterpiece, I recommend this to anyone who loves Mob/Gangster movie and of course if you are a fan of Johnny Depp or Al Pacino you should really see this!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Confessions of a Dangerous Mind review

Posted : 14 years, 11 months ago on 21 October 2007 02:37 (A review of Confessions of a Dangerous Mind)

I kind of have mixed feeling about whether or not I actually enjoyed watching this film. I can't quite work out if I liked it or not..

I do know that it was very slow starting. In fact I almost didn't end up watching the whole thing. But I think it was when George Clooney came on and the whole CIA thing started that it got a bit more interesting. I mean, a bit more interesting.

So basically it follows the life of Chuck Barris, creator of TV shows. It actually had some funny parts, not laugh out loud but just some that made me smile and enjoyed the movie for a while. Some parts though were just dull and boring ..and confusing.

It was excellent directing though by George Clooney, and also fantastic acting by him. Sam Rockwell was brilliant though, I hadn't seen any other films with him so it was strange but he did an amazing job. Drew Barrymore was okay, I hadn't really seen her with a role like that before, it just didn't really suit her for some reason.. Oh and Julia Roberts who I hate wasn't any better than I expected.

There are probably lots of people out there who loved this movie, some like me might have found it a bit confusing. It was okay, worth watching, but just not exactly my type of movie. Still, I'm not stopping anyone from seeing this, go watch it for yourself and see if you like it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Hide and Seek review

Posted : 14 years, 11 months ago on 20 October 2007 03:34 (A review of Hide and Seek)

Well I thought it was fantastic. I happen to love thriller/mystery movies so that made me enjoy it a lot more than some people would.

Okay, so I hate Dakota Fanning. Just thought you should know that. But she actually wasn't that bad. Normally I can't stand her - I think it was after 'War of the Worlds' where she screamed through the whole movie that I started to dislike her. This movie is infact the opposite for her. Especially in the first half, she only says a few words.
Robert De Niro was just brilliant as always. I was expecting the best from himand that's what you get.

Okay, so the story is more creepy than scary. There were a few parts when I jumped from something being so sudden, but mostly it was just creepy music that kept the suspence going. the twist actually reminded me a lot of 'Secret Window', you'll get what I mean when you see for yourself. But this one was more unexpected, I really had no idea what was coming.

If you're a Robert De Niro fan, or perhaps you like the idea of Dakota Fanning looking really freaky? Then you should see this. Oh and if you like thrillers then that's even more reason to go and see this!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Alfie review

Posted : 14 years, 11 months ago on 19 October 2007 06:54 (A review of Alfie)

It was worth watching, but not exactly interesting for me. I liked the humor and how this film is unique, but really it had no storyline at all and apart from a few quotes it wasn't laugh-out-loud comedy.
Though I must say that Jude Law was brilliant as always..


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Hotel Rwanda review

Posted : 14 years, 11 months ago on 19 October 2007 06:34 (A review of Hotel Rwanda)

This is one of those films you really have to see. Its heartbreaking to see, I don't know exactly what happened in that time so I can't judge whether or not this movie was true to what actually happened. All I know is that this deserved the Academy Award nominations, it is truly amazing and Don Cheadle was perfect for his character. He put so much passion into this movie, I can't imagine anyone else as that role.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Three Kings review

Posted : 14 years, 11 months ago on 19 October 2007 06:20 (A review of Three Kings)

Before seeing this I didn't really have a clue about this movie. Seeing George Clooney, Mark Wahlberg and Ice Cube together made me think that there's no point in reading what it was about, the cast and perhaps even the name gave me a feeling that this would be a great movie no doubt about it.

And ..I was right! Its totally in your face action combined with its originality and humour was fantastic. It really suited the roles that the 'Three Kings' had. If you love war movies or you're just one for action films then this one is for you, if you like George Clooney, Mark Wahlberg or Ice Cube (or even better ..all three!) then you'll enjoy it even more.

Its one of those films where you can connect really well to the characters. It shows in depth all about each character and each scene shows their emotions really well. It even reflects when someone dies, the passion shown by the actors (especially Mark Wahlberg) gives it a new edge and I certainly felt sad in several parts of this movie.

Again I will say fantastic cast choices, this is one of those movies you really should see to call yourself a George Clooney/Mark Wahlberg fan.


0 comments, Reply to this entry