Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (195) - TV Shows (5) - Books (2) - Music (16) - Games (6)

Chain Reaction review

Posted : 9 years, 8 months ago on 6 December 2007 07:08 (A review of Chain Reaction)

Not half bad. Obviously not as good as it could have been, but heck, it was enjoyable. I'm not sure why it's been passed by heaps of people on here and getting worse ratings than it deserves. This is a solid 7/10 from me, and the fact that I love the two main actors and the action/thriller style is the main part of that rating.

Keanu Reeves is Eddie Kasalivich, a technician for a scientific team that discovers the low-cost alternative to producing pollution-free fuel. But when the lab is destroyed and the head of the team is murdered, it's Eddie and co-worker physicist Lily Sinclair are framed. They then begin to run and keep away from the FBI until they can understand what is really going on and who is responsible. They also have Paul Shannon, an unlikely friend who they're not sure what side he's on.

Keanu Reeves really made this movie for me. I really admire him as an actor, so I can't say I was concentrating on his acting in this movie, no matter what he's still a favourite actor of mine. Morgan Freeman is an incredible actor and it really showed in this, as for Rachel Weisz, she was kind of average. Maybe slightly higher. The typical supporting cast for movies like this, not too shabby but then again nothing brilliant.

Worth watching for yourself, you might agree with some other people and find it predictable, or maybe you might find it slightly entertaining. See for yourself.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Cry-Baby review

Posted : 9 years, 8 months ago on 5 December 2007 07:52 (A review of Cry-Baby)

Wow, I never expected that rating this would be so hard. I can't decide if it deserves 3.5 or 4 stars.. I'll just give it 4 for now. Don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed watching it but if I could choose I think I would give it 3.75..

It's definitely unique but with the theme of 'Grease', because it's a musical and in the romance genre. I normally hate musicals but I survived watching this because of Johnny Depp, and heck, the songs weren't that bad apart from that fact that they are really catchy. It's definitely very cheesy, but all you have to do is look at Johnny Depp in that leather jacket and you'll instantly fall in love with this film. That is.. uhh.. girls would. I also really loved his hair, it gave him that rebel look and definitely gave Cry Baby more character.

I can't say that apart from Johnny Depp there wasn't really much 'acting' in this flick. It was like everyone just had fun, and I liked that, but apart from Johnny there was no real emotion or anything from the other actors. Johnny Depp on the other hand was simply perfect for his character. Now I'm not saying that he is really a rebel, but he made everything more believable than everyone else. One of the best looks for his characters for sure.

Don't expect a masterpiece but this sure was an enjoyable movie to say the least. Cheesy but entertaining, If you love Johnny Depp you'll love this. If you hate musicals.. well, you won't like it as much as others.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels review

Posted : 9 years, 8 months ago on 5 December 2007 06:46 (A review of Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels)

This IS entertainment in itself. The one word I can use to describe this film the best is 'entertaining'. And it is, it's up there in the best British comedies and because I can't say I’ve seen many; this along with 'Snatch' are easily my favorites.

I don't think it would be possible to watch this movie and not laugh. There's a joke all the time, some more obvious than others. I have to say that I prefer the movie 'Snatch' to this, just because I seemed to enjoy it a bit more and probably laughed the most I have for ages when I watched it. I think I also liked the selection of actors in 'Snatch', this film sort of introduces some of the characters and 'Snatch' brings in even more.

I loved the directing style; two thumbs way up to Guy Ritchie. The Screenplay was brilliant, I loved how each character had their own story and somehow they all came together. The humor was definitely the type that I like in a film. The little things I noticed really cracked me up, simple stuff like facial expressions were great.

I really liked Jason Statham's character as well as Vinnie Jones. The acting was priceless and the cast were brilliant. It was like they all fitted in perfectly with their character.. like they all had a bit of them in themselves.

My point of this review: for anyone who hasn't already to see this. An explosive comedy that you'll love from the moment it starts until the very end.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Crime Spree review

Posted : 9 years, 8 months ago on 3 December 2007 08:35 (A review of Crime Spree)

Funny, but in the kind of way that sometimes the comedy turns out to be stupid. Or maybe it's supposed to be like that? I'm not too sure, but I still enjoyed watching it.

Believe it or not the story was actually quite clever at some points, a nice idea. It's like any other crime movie I guess, only this had that humor you don't normally get. From the cover and reading about it I had no idea it would be this much of a comedy, it took over from the action. There were only a few shots fired (If you don't count that last scene where there's too many to count), and yet the comedy stayed from the beginning until the end. Sure, most of the time the reason to laugh would be that it's stupid, others that they actually made a good joke.

Well for starters I can say that Gérard Depardieu annoyed me. I know he's been in some other good movies but I just don't like him as an actor. Harvey Keitel on the other hand I really liked. There were quite a few other well-known actors in this, I it was just average acting. Perhaps slightly below average for some.

Overall a funny ride, but that doesn't make it a brilliant movie. They could have used the story for a more serious movie, but it couldn't have worked either. It's a comedy that's not half bad.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Identity review

Posted : 9 years, 8 months ago on 2 December 2007 03:51 (A review of Identity)

Now this is more like it. It was only the night before I watched this that I watched a thriller movie, supposedly with a twist at the end. This is definitely a twist unlike any other that I have seen before. It's so mysterious and leaves you still wondering about the movie after it finishes. It's good in that way, the feelings and thrills stay with you.

The story takes place at a motel in Nevada when ten strangers to each other are trapped at the motel due to the fierce rainstorm and flooding. It's only a while after they arrive that one of them is murdered and soon they each start to die one by one. They find out that if they are to survive the night they must uncover the mystery of why they are there. One thing that adds to the thrills is that each time one of them dies, a key to one of the rooms is left beside them. It counts down until they find out that there will be only one survivor..

John Cusack was brilliant for his role, creating a creepy atmosphere. Ray Liotta seemed evil from the moment that he appeared on the screen. Amanda Peet I must say was pretty good at her role of screaming. That's all she really did, but I guess without it it wouldn't have been nearly as creepy. The characters aren't all that they seem though..

This combines horror with a thriller, but the main aspect of this film is that it is a mystery. It should keep you guessing and wondering who is responsible for the murders. The movie is finished off with a poem, which leaves the eerie and creepy feeling with you. "When I was going up the stairs, I met a man who wasn't there. He wasn't there again today, I wish, I wish he'd go away."


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Twisted review

Posted : 9 years, 8 months ago on 1 December 2007 05:04 (A review of Twisted)

I would hardly call this 'twisted'. What they're trying to tell you is that the ending has a twist, but it's twisted in a way that nothing makes sense in the ending. It was easy enough to guess who was behind the murders, and I hate it in films like this when they need a twist so they pull out a random person to be responsible. No clues, no nothing to explain why.

The plot is convincing though, if only it was made better by the acting and 'twist'. It follows a female police officer who is investigating a series of murders, and soon finds out that she has slept with all of the victims. The plot tries to draw you in with the possibility that she might be the killer she is looking for, she seems to be going a bit crazy dealing with her father's death.

It wasn't just the ending that is this movie's downfall. The acting could have been a lot better, it seemed as if they just didn't care. Ashley Judd was okay, nothing more. Samuel L. Jackson was the easiest to tell that he gave this movie nothing special, and then Andy Garcia was really the only decent performance, I kind of liked his character.

It's not something I would recommend for anyone to see, but hey, maybe you might enjoy it more than I did.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Talented Mr. Ripley review

Posted : 9 years, 8 months ago on 1 December 2007 02:51 (A review of The Talented Mr. Ripley)

"I always thought it'd be better to be a fake somebody than a real nobody."

This is really amazing drama film, supported by an fantastic cast and story. It's kind of a mystery thriller as well when you think about it.

Matt Damon is Tom Ripley, one of the most complex and mysterious characters I've ever seen Matt play. In this film Mr. Ripley borrows a Princeton jacket, and soon he is talking with the father of a recent graduate from Princeton. He is then asked by the father to travel to Italy to bring his son back. So Tom Ripley goes to Europe and pretends to know Dickie Greenleaf, soon the two become friends. But after some events it's Tom Ripley who goes to extreme lengths to take Dickie's lifestyle and use it for himself.

Matt Damon, like I said before, played a complex character with mystery surrounding him. We see the whole movie through the eyes of Tom Ripley, so this was a very strong character. Matt Damon played him exceptionally well and I just can't imagine another actor as Tom Ripley. Jude Law was brilliant as always, I just wish he was in the movie for longer. Philip Seymour Hoffman was pretty damn good for his role, kind of funny in a way that his character didn't really care for anything or anyone. He was himself and it worked perfectly. I loved Jack Davenport's character, he was a stand out actor for me in this movie.

Really worth seeing if you haven't already. A nice, entertaining and complex film that had my attention from the opening credits to it's mysterious end. A must see.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Sling Blade review

Posted : 9 years, 8 months ago on 27 November 2007 06:24 (A review of Sling Blade)

- "Ever think of killing yourself on purpose like my daddy done?"
- "I studied about it. The Bible says you ought not to. It says if you do that, you go off to Hades. Some folks call it Hell, I call it Hades."

This is without a doubt one of the most original and yet powerful and touching movies I have ever seen. This is true drama with Billy Bob showing his unique acting skills, this is not one to be missed.

Billy Bob Thornton is Karl Childers, a mentally handicapped man who is released from a psychiatric hospital after killing his mother and her lover. At the start of the film Karl is interviewed for the newspaper and we can discover the circumstances of the deaths. Karl decides to go back and settle in his hometown, where he soon meets a young boy who he becomes friends with. It's not long before he meets the boy's mother and her abusive boyfriend, who is cruel to both the boy and the mother. It's written and directed beautifully by Billy Bob, making this moving and touching from the beginning. A truly original story.

Billy Bob Thornton was again amazing, there's no stop to him surprising me with his acting and versatility. It's hard to imagine Karl Childers is actually Bad Santa, and although I love him in comedies he really is just as brilliant in these types of films. Dwight Yoakam also gives a great performance and Lucas Black was brilliant for his part. The emotion and story made this believable and the performances from the actors was terrific. Definitely worth seeing if you haven't already, this is Billy Bob Thornton at his best.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Shaun of the Dead review

Posted : 9 years, 8 months ago on 26 November 2007 08:40 (A review of Shaun of the Dead)

'A romantic comedy ..with Zombies'

That says it all, obviously the romance part of it doesn't completely take over the film, but this could be classified with basically any genre. Comedy is obviously the stand out, but hey you could fit in romance, horror or even drama into it. It's kind of funny in that way, hopefully it should satisfy everyone.

It is a brilliant take-off of 'Dawn of the Dead', which by the way I have never actually seen myself. It still has the blood and zombies, but maybe it manages to fit in some other great stuff that probably was nothing like 'Dawn of the Dead'. Just the little stuff makes you laugh the most, stuff maybe not everyone notices but it's still hilarious. I watched this after 'Hot Fuzz', it's not as if the two come together but there are small things I noticed that were similar. I liked this a lot, don't get me wrong, but I enjoyed 'Hot Fuzz' more than this.

Simon Pegg was brilliant and just like in 'Hot Fuzz', him and Nick Frost worked perfectly together. They kept the laughs going from start to finish, but apart from that I can't really say the acting was anything above average. Kate Ashfield kind of annoyed me.. I don't know why.

This is a great watch for everyone. Like I said, this could be basically any genre so just because you hate horror movies doesn't mean you shouldn't see this. Sure, it has a fair bit of zombies and blood etc. but really this is a comedy movie. And heck, If you've seen 'Hot Fuzz' then you really should see this one!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford review

Posted : 9 years, 8 months ago on 26 November 2007 06:12 (A review of The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford)

Woah.. this film really surprised me. I expected it to be good, but this was way more than I expected. It was amazing and I really enjoyed it, I can understand some people might not like it as much as others, but that's always the case with any movie.

This film tells the story of Jesse James, an American Outlaw and his life. It doesnt cover everything, but just about everything interesting enough to be made into a movie. The title basically gives away what will happen that the end, so there's no surprise to his assassination. Robert Ford is only really just a kid when he joins Jesse James' gang, looking up to him as a hero until he realises that Jesse doesn't think highly of him just like everyone else. In the movie we experience the shooting, friends and family life of Jesse James.

Brad Pitt was excellent as always, I had no doubt that he would completely ace his role in this. Casey Affleck who I'm not really familiar with played the character with amazing emotion, he really brought something to this movie it just wouldn't have been as good without. Sam Rockwell was fantastic like the other movies I have seen with him, the part he had he played brilliantly and again, I couldn't think of a better casing choice.

It's more a drama than action in most cases, so don't expect this to be full of shooting and killing etc. It does go for a while but it couldn't have been as good without some of the scenes, and at the end you might be left still questioning what happened. This ending was satisfying in that it told you everything you would want to know.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block